“The power under the constitution will always be in the people. It is entrusted for certain defined purposes, and for a certain limited period, to representatives of their own choosing; and whenever it is executed contrary to their interest, or not agreeable to their wishes, their servants can and undoubtedly will, be recalled.”

~ George Washington (1787)

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

NRA-ILA Alert: HB1588 heads for the House floor

Today, House Bill 1588, legislation that could criminalize private sales of firearms and lead to handgun registration, was amended and reported by the House Judiciary Committee by a 7-6 vote.  HB 1588 is now headed to the House Rules Committee before going to the floor of the state House of Representatives. It is imperative that you contact your state Representatives and the members of the House Rules Committee TODAY and urge them to oppose HB 1588.

Sponsored by state representatives Jamie Pederson (D-43), Mike Hope (R-44) and 36 other state representatives, HB 1588 could criminalize all private sales of firearms. This bill mandates a $20 fee (tax) to conduct a background check.  All private firearm sales would be required to be brokered by licensed gun dealers and it is unlikely that $20 would cover their cost.  A likely outcome is dealers refusing to process these transactions, potentially bringing all legal private firearm sales to a halt.

HB 1588 is unworkable in its current form, as it conflicts with federal law.  Furthermore, if it was able to be implemented as drafted, it would create a database of all privately sold handguns since ALL dealer handgun deliveries are registered with the state.

This bill is nothing more than a regulatory scheme that would create a huge burden for law-abiding citizens, would be unenforceable and would be ignored by criminals anyway. It is truly nothing more than a precursor to Universal Firearm REGISTRATION!

More below the fold:
The NRA thanks the following six state Representatives who voted against this attack on our Second Amendment rights. Please contact them and thank them for standing up for your constitutional rights:

Representative Jay Rodne (R-5)
(360) 786-7852

Representative Steve O'Ban (R-28)
(360) 786-7890

Representative Steve Kirby (D-29)
(360) 786-7996

Representative Brad Klippert (R-8)
(360) 786-7882

Representative Terry Nealey (R-16)
(360) 786-7828

Representative Matt Shea (R-4)
(360) 786-7984

It is imperative that you contact your state Representatives and the members of the House Rules Committee TODAY and urge them to oppose HB 1588. If one of your Representatives serves on the House Rules Committee, it is especially important for you to contact them, as this committee has the power to prevent this bill from going to the House Floor. To find your elected officials and their contact information, please click here. You may also contact your state Representatives by calling the toll-free legislative hotline at 1-800-562-6000. Contact information for the House Rules Committee is provided below:

House Rules Committee:

Representative Frank Chopp (D-43) Chair
(360) 786-7920

Representative Richard DeBolt (R-20)
(360) 786-7896

Representative Cathy Dahlquist (R-31)
(360) 786-7846

Representative Susan Fagan (R-9)
(360) 786-7942

Representative Tami Green (D-28)
(360) 786-7958

Representative Jeff Holy (R-6)
(360) 786-7962

Representative Norm Johnson (R-14)
(360) 786-7810

Representative Linda Kochmar (R-30)
(360) 786-7898

Representative Joel Kretz (R-7)
(360) 786-7988

Representative Marko Liias (D-21)
(360) 786-7972

Representative Chad Magendanz (R-5)
(360) 786-7876

Representative Marcie Maxwell (D-41)
(360) 786-7894

Representative Jim Moeller (D-49)
(360) 786-7872

Representative Terry Nealey (R-16)
(360) 786-7828

Representative Tina Orwall (D-33)
(360) 786-7834

Representative Eric Pettigrew (D-37)
(360) 786-7838

Representative Chris Reykdal (D-22)
(360) 786-7940

Representative Mary Helen Roberts (D-21)
(360) 786-7950

Representative Cindy Ryu (D-32)
(360) 786-7880

Representative David Sawyer (D-29)
(360) 786-7906

Representative Larry Springer (D-45)
(360) 786-7822

Representative Pat Sullivan (D-47)
(360) 786-7858

Representative Gael Tarleton (D-36)
(360) 786-7860

Representative Kevin Van De Wege (D-24)
(360) 786-7916

Representative J.T. Wilcox (R-2)
(360) 786-7912